Gay & Lesbian Services of Western New York


The Bill Eaton Award
Each November GLYS holds its annual fund-raising dinner, the GAYLA.  Beginning in 2005, GLYS will present the Eaton Award to a WNY high school student (GLBT or a straight ally) who through his/her individual efforts or as part of his/her GSA or diversity club, has helped to make his/her school a safer place for GLBT students.  The Eaton Award is named for the late Bill Eaton, a WNY GLBT activist, who died of lung cancer in 1998.  To nominate a student from your school, please call (716.855.0221) or email Marvin Henchbarger (Executive Director) at  Nominations can be made at any time, but the deadline for 2009 nominations is October 11, 2009.
Recipients of the Bill Eaton Award:
2005: Abram Morgan, Grand Island High School
2006: Francine Caldwell, Newfane Central High School
2007: GSA, Gowanda High School
2008: GLBT Support Group and GSA, Niagara Wheatfield High School

Conant/Cox School Ally Award
Recipients of the Conant/Cox School Ally Award:
Sandra Anzalone, Principal- Grand Island High School
Jennifer Mattimore & Kimberly Moritz- Gowanda High School
Joan Conti, Social Worker- Cheektowaga Central High School
David Saia, Librarian- Heim Middle School
Anne Nowak & Maggie Lehman, GSA Adivsors- Sweet Home High School
Lisa Lindamer, Gina Merlo, & Dawn Yeates- Niagara Wheatfield High School


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s